Skip to content

American Society of Civil EngineersASCE Met Section

Home arrow News
All News
2014 Call for Topics Print E-mail
Structures Group
Each year, the Structures Group sponsors several technical lectures and the Spring Seminar Series. These lectures and seminar provide a forum for engineers and educators to present and discuss notable projects or topics of research and development. We would appreciate your suggestions for future talks.

  • Has your company worked on an exciting project recently?
  • Are you involved in some interesting research?
  • Have you implemented some new technology?

If so, we would love to hear from you.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Ammar Zalt
ASCE Met Section Structures Group Chair
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
First Young Professionals Technical Series Lecture Print E-mail
Younger Member Forum
On November 14, 2013, engineers assembled for an intriguing structural engineering presentation by young professionals of Robert Silman Associates. The technical presentation marked the first lecture of the Young Professionals Technical Series. Three projects were presented by Graham Seward, Karen Miller, Justin Den Herder and Tony Struck. Graham discussed a residential townhouse renovation in Manhattan, Karen presented the complexities of the design and construction aspects of the St. Patrick's Cathedral renovation, while Justin and Tony depicted the complicated design challenges for the Virginia Commonwealth University Institute of Contemporary Art, a Steven Holl project.

The technical lecture was a mutual benefit in which the young professionals articulated their presentations and the audience learned of the challenging obstacles each young professional faced in their respective project. The audience critiqued and provided feedback about the presentations. Attendees spoke highly of the evening.

Application of Finite Element Methods in Design, Construction and Forensic Engineering Print E-mail
Structures Group
On December 9, 2013, Dr. Ayman Shama, P.E. of H&H discussed the application of Finite Element Methods (FEM) in design, construction and forensic engineering. He provided a brief explanation of this method and discussed significant issues such as the use of different types of elements and their adequacy for analysis. He presented different case studies of various building and bridge projects that cover structural, geotechnical and fluid mechanics for wind analysis.
ASCE's Annual Conference Returns to NYC in 2015 Print E-mail
Met Section
It's not too early to start marking your calendars for 2015! ASCE's Annual Civil Engineering Conference will return to New York City for the first time since 1992. The conference is scheduled to be held on October 11-14, 2015 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square.
DPW Commissioners Speak at Transportation Luncheon Print E-mail
Long Island Branch
The Long Island Branch held its Annual Transportation Luncheon on Friday, December 6th at Carlyle on the Green in Bethpage State Park. The event featured a reception and three course luncheon with presentations by Nassau County DPW Commissioner Shila Shah-Gavnoudias, P.E. and Suffolk County DPW Commissioner Gil Anderson, P.E.
Common Problems, Uncommon Solution: Column Replacement with Drilled Shafts Print E-mail
Structures Group
On November 11, 2013, Huseyin Kopkalli, P.E. of Parsons explained the challenges faced while fixing the columns of bridge spanning the southbound Henry Hudson Parkway from West 179th Street to Dyckman Street.
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Results 37 - 42 of 281