Skip to content

American Society of Civil EngineersASCE Met Section

Home arrow Met Section arrow Awards arrow Civil Engineer of the Year
Metropolitan Section Civil Engineer of the Year Award Print E-mail
The Section's highest award recognizes a civil engineer who has rendered exceptional service to the civil engineering profession, to the Met Section and to the Society. The first award was presented to Emil H. Praeger on May 20, 1953 in the Engineering Societies Building for his design of Pier 57, the only pier in New York City built on floating concrete caissons. A former chief of the Navy Bureau of Design, Praegar also designed a floating concrete breakwater for the invasion of Normandy during World War II.

2015 Recipient:

Alfred H. Brand, P.E., D.GE
Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers

Alfred Brand is a Geotechnical Engineer with over 47 years of experience. He spent his entire career at Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers (MRCE), joining in 1968 as a Junior Engineer after receiving his BECE from The Cooper Union. He received a MS in Soil Mechanics (now called Geotechnical Engineering) from Cornell University in 1969.

Mr. Brand’s technical, management and leadership skills, made themselves apparent early and he rapidly rose in the firm. He managed the MRCE Soils Laboratory from 1970 to 1975, and then became an Associate in 1976 and a Senior Associate in 1983. He supervised the firm’s geotechnical staff from 1976 until 1988, when he became a Partner. He served as MRCE's Senior Partner from 2007 until his retirement in January, 2015.

Mr. Brand is a licensed Professional Engineer in 8 states and holds a Certificate of Qualification at NCEE. He is an ASCE Academy of Geo-Professionals’ Board Certified Diplomate in Geotechnical Engineering (D.GE) and is a leader in the field of difficult foundation issues. His opinion and expertise are regularly sought by clients, staff, and fellow engineers.

Under Mr. Brand’s leadership, the firm worked on some of its most significant projects, expanded in size and engineering capability, and maintained the quality of service it is well known for. He managed or directed jobs on a wide variety of projects from all types of building foundations to transportation systems, waterfront parks, and industrial facilities. In addition to working throughout the United States, he has considerable experience overseas including assignments in Germany, Panama, Peru, Hong Kong, Yemen, and Saudi Arabia. His notable projects include some of MRCE’s most notable and award-winning projects, such as the new Second Avenue Subway, Columbia University’s Manhattanville Campus expansion, Battery Park City and Hudson River Park in New York City; Brooklyn Bridge Park and Louis Valentino Park in Brooklyn; MesseTurm, Friedrichstadt Passagen, and Hofgarten am Gendarmenmarkt in Germany; and the USTA Facilities in Flushing Meadows, Queens.

Throughout his career, Mr. Brand has given generously of his time to promote the field of engineering to the firm’s staff, as well as to students and various organizations. He has shared his knowledge and experience generously with generations of engineers. He speaks regularly at local schools and has led groups of students on site tours at many Moles Student Day events. He has served as President of The Moles from 2008-2009 and continues to volunteer as a Continuing Professional Competency Program Evaluator for The Practicing Institute of Engineering (PIE).

Past Recipients:

2014 William A. Fife
2013 Paul Nietzschmann
2012 Samuel Weissman
2011 John F. Spencer
2010 Hugh S. Lacy
2009 Michael J. Cuddy
2008 Samuel I. Schwartz
2007 Neil Lucey
2006 John M. Dionisio
2005 Ken Serzan
2004 Robert Warshaw
2003 Mysore L. Nagaraja
2002 Peter Rinaldi
2001 Joseph M. Englot
2000 Bernard A. Grand
1999 M. Leland Caldwell
1998 Milo E. Riversa
1997 Francis J. Lombardi
1996 Joel A. Miele, Sr.
1995 Satoshi Oishi
1994 James P. Gould
1993 Fletcher "Bud" H. Griffis
1992 Michael Haratunian
1991 James L. Lammie
1990 Charles Thornton
1989 Man-Chung Tang
1988 Ira Hooper
1987 Frank L. Stahl
1986 Edward Cohen
1985 Anthony R. Ameruso
1984 Brother B. Austin Barry
1983 George Shoepfer
1982 Raymond M. Monti
1981 Bernard Haber
1980 George A. Fox
1979 Michael R. Pender
1978 Joseph R. Ward
1977 Roger H. Gilman
1976 Colonel John T. O'Neill
1975 Arthur J. Fox, Jr.
1974 Jewell M. Garrelts
1973 Alfred C. Maevis
1972 Martin Lang
1971 Sidney M. Shapiro
1970 LeRoy Ericson
1969 Charles E. Schaffner
1968 Richard H. Tatlow III
1967 Arne Lear
1966 William D. Alexander III
1965 Milton Brumer
1964 James Ruderman
1963 Boyd G. Anderson
1962 No Award
1961 Waldo G. Bowman
1960 John Kyle
1959 William H. Mueser
1958 Othmar H. Ammann
1957 Howard L. King
1956 Jacob Feld
1955 Shortridge Hardesty
1954 Richard H. Gould
1953 Emil H. Praeger