Chase De Rose, Sr.
Chase De Rose, Sr., M.ASCE
Photo Credit: William Taylor
As an engineer who has personally worked on many projects at the World Trade Center Site, I too want to salute the civil engineering professionals who worked heroically in the aftermath of these events and who continue to work to design and build infrastructure that can save lives in the event of future attacks.

I would like to first share an email entitled "NYSSPE Remembers." This email was sent to me from the New York State Society of Professional Engineers.
Dear Mr. Cesare DeRose,

It has been 10 years since the terrorist attacks on the United States that broke our hearts and changed our lives in ways we couldn't have imagined. These 10 years have made us wiser and resolute in our quest for justice; cautious and diligent in our efforts to restore our way of life, but acutely aware of the dangers that exist in our world today. As professional engineers, public safety is our paramount concern, and the breach of that principle caused us to think differently about how to protect it, and 10 years later the world is better for it. The tragic loss of life on September 11, 2001, is still unconscionable, something that we as a nation will never entirely recover from. Today, I would like to honor those engineers in New York State who perished on September 11, 2001.

They were:

  • Susan Miszkowicz
  • Patrick Hoey
  • Prem Jerath
  • Alan Bondarenko
  • Carlos Cortes
  • Ulf Ericson
  • Robert Ferris
  • George Strauch
  • Lars Qualben
  • Alan Friedlander
  • Roger Rasweiler
  • Harry Taback
  • Michael David Ferugio
  • Salvatore Gitto
  • Mark Shulman
  • Daniel Maurice VanLaere
  • Mark Zangrilli

Donald P. Nims, P.E.

"Let us not forget"

To commemorate the 10th anniversary, ASCE has assembled a special remembrance section on its website and is honored to feature exclusive audio podcast interviews with five prominent civil engineers who share personal recollections of that day, provide insights into their roles before and after the attacks, and offer what they believe is the legacy of those events for the profession of civil engineering.

The Coming Year
There are many different aspects to the ASCE Met Section. As a brief reminder, below, I have provided a summary of our strategic approach to four focus areas for the coming year.

Building and Enhancing Careers
Many of you have heard me describe how professional associations build and enhance careers. Professional affiliations continually motivate and recognize personal achievements outside of the workplace and they provide experience and opportunities in leadership. Your next opportunity will come when you are asked to run for office or are appointed to serve in a vacant seat. Each opportunity to serve and represent your profession results in new rewards from a leadership perspective. As I said in my previous message, the effort you put into an organization greatly influences the results that come out of it. Our goal for the end of 2012 is for each of our subsidiary organizations to host events that challenge and attract new members. By involving individual members we’ll continue to develop excitement about ASCE and the civil engineering profession.

Our profession faces new challenge caused by deteriorating infrastructure and the effects of natural and man-made disasters. These issues are creating a gap between the number of engineers who are needed to face these challenges and the number of engineers who are in professional practice. Truly, we have a need to keep our senior engineers excited about their work and to have our younger engineers engaged and excited about their careers to come. We become stronger by recognizing our work and individual achievements to the public. Our goal for the end of 2012 is to recognize achievements of Civil Engineers within the Met Section along with the Outstanding Projects of the Year. We will also strive to recognize our Life Members who continue to contribute to our profession and young members who are bringing new skills and talents to the workplace.

Outreaching to Young Members
Change is inevitable. It has never been more profoundly observed than with the four generations that currently make up our workforce. Our profession is in transition as boomers prepare to retire and give way to the younger employees who are taking on increasingly more important roles with greater responsibilities. We must also mentor and give way to new leaders that will shape our tomorrow and future generations of civil engineers. Our goal for the end of 2012 is to continue our professional and financial support to ASCE students in the colleges in our Section. Scholarships are offered to students with a minimum of one year remaining in their civil engineering curriculum.

ASCE's vision for the profession, Vision 2025, will require a focused effort over many years. We'll get there one step at a time. A strategic approach with simple focus areas provides a road map to move us forward to 2025. We must consider the importance of our geographic connection to our state capitol and the important role we serve in working with the ASCE Region 1 Board of Governors. Region 1 strives to establish a closer relationship with the New York Board for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. We also feel the responsibility for some belt tightening as our Section and Branches struggle with the economy and the reality of our annual budgets. Our goal in 2011 was to start and end with a balanced budget. We are committed to continue to add value to your membership in ASCE.

Finally, in recognition and support of all of Andy Herrmann's efforts, I would like to personally invite all the Met Section members to join me at a Met Section reception in his honor at the Annual 141st ASCE Conference in Memphis. While at the time this was printed we didn't have the event date or time, if you will be in Memphis and want to attend please email me and I will provide the details.

I didn't find Elvis in Vegas so I'm headed to Memphis! See you at the Annual 141st ASCE Conference.


Chase De Rose, Sr.
President, ASCE Met Section